## FARIBAULT COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS JUNE 1, 2021

The Faribault County Board of Commissioners met in regular session at the Courthouse in the City of Blue Earth at 9:00 a.m. on June 1, 2021. The following members were present: Bruce Anderson, Bill Groskreutz, Tom Loveall, John Roper, and Greg Young Commissioners. County Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator Darren Esser, Acting Clerk to the Board Clara Vereide, State Representative Bjorn Olson, Kevin Mertens, and Milt Steele were also present. Also participating in the call were Faribault County employees: K. Karjala, J. Blair, K. Anderson, S. Hauskins, and L. Scholten.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Roper. The pledge of allegiance was recited.

\* \* \* \* \*

Groskreutz/Young motion carried unanimously to approve the synopsis and official proceedings of the May 18, 2021 regular and May 20, 2021 special meetings.

\* \* \* \* \*

Loveall/Anderson motion carried unanimously to approve the agenda of June 1, 2021.

\* \* \* \* \*

The calendar was updated.

Representative Bjorn Olson gave a legislative update during public comment.

\* \* \* \* \*

Committee reports were given. Groskreutz reported on ISG drainage tour, HRA, EMS Joint Powers board, Radio board, and JCD301; Young reported CD21; Loveall reported on 1W1P; and Roper reported RMEB.

\* \* \* \* \*

Sentence To Serve Crew Leader Tom Hennis met regarding the Sentence to Service contract. Also in attendance were Wells City Administrator C.J. Hall, Wells Street Foreman Mike Pyzick, Juvenile Probation Agent Al Hanson, Department of Corrections District Supervisor Jill Barickman, and Felony Probation Agent Val Malchow.

Young/Anderson motion failed to approve the two-year Sentence to Serve contract with the State of Minnesota beginning July 1, 2021. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, and Young voted no.

Loveall/Groskreutz motion carried unanimously to table Sentence To Serve contract to the June 15, 2021 meeting.

\* \* \* \* \*

Recorder Sherry Asmus met regarding office business. Discussion was held regarding office policy on public access to office.

06-01-21 - 150-

## \* \* \* \* \*

Public Works Director Mark Daly met regarding office business.

Anderson/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve Resolution 21-CB-46 agreement with Union Pacific Railroad and Commissioner of Transportation for CSAH 4 railroad crossing upgrade. Commissioners Anderson, Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, and Young voted yes.

## **RESOLUTION**

- **BE IT RESOLVED** that Faribault County enter into an agreement with Union Pacific Railroad and the Commissioner of Transportation for the installation and maintenance of railroad crossing signals at the intersection of CSAH 4 (70th Street) with the tracks of Union Pacific Railroad, and appointing the Commissioner of Transportation agent for Faribault County to supervise said project and administer available Federal Funds in accordance with Minnesota Statute, Section 161.36. The Faribault County's share of the cost shall be 10% of the total signal cost.
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Board Chair and the Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator are authorized to execute the agreement and any amendments to the agreement.

Groskreutz/Young motion carried unanimously to reaffirm opinion in 1991 policy for cost-sharing of a damaged private drain tile under a county highway.

\* \* \* \* \*

Young/Anderson motion carried unanimously to appoint Karla Carr of Pilot Grove to a 3-year term on the Extension Committee ending December 31, 2022.

\* \* \* \* \*

Groskreutz/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve request from J. Blair to attend a 4-day MnCCC annual conference virtually.

\* \* \* \* \*

No member of the public appeared during Drainage public comment.

\* \* \* \* \*

Groskreutz/Loveall motion carried unanimously to pay audit list and auxiliary totaling \$ 366,511.85 as follows:

GENERAL REVENUE FUND	\$ 57,580.48
PUBLIC WORKS FUND	75,998.19

HUMAN SERVICES FUND	222,521.37
NON REV/DISB A	911.81
DEBT SERVICE FUND	<u>9,500.00</u> \$ 366,511.85

\* \* \* \* \*

The meeting was recessed to 9:00 a.m. June 15, 2021.

John Roper, Chair

Clara Vereide, Acting Clerk to the Board