FARIBAULT COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS OCTOBER 6, 2020

The Faribault County Board of Commissioners met in regular session via teleconference in the City of Blue Earth at 9:00 a.m. on October 6, 2020. The following members were present: Bill Groskreutz, Tom Loveall, John Roper, Tom Warmka, and Greg Young Commissioners. County Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator Darren Esser, County Attorney Kathryn Karjala, Central Services Director Lexi Scholten, and Acting Clerk to the Board Clara Vereide were also present. Also participating in the call were Faribault County employees: K. Anderson, J. Blair, C. Lewis, M. Lore, L. Rebuffoni; members of public: D. Koziolek, and Kevin Mertens.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Warmka. The pledge of allegiance was recited.

* * * * *

Loveall/Roper motion carried unanimously to approve the synopsis and official proceedings of the September 1, 2020 regular and September 15, 2020 regular and drainage authority meetings. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

* * * * *

Groskreutz/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve the agenda of October 6, 2020. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

* * * * *

The calendar was updated. No member of the public appeared during public comment.

* * * * *

Committee reports were presented. Roper reported on Workforce and EDA; Groskreutz reported on Health and Human Services, Regional Transportation Coordinating Council, HRA, EDA, and MRCI; and Warmka reported on RMEB, State Auditor, EMS, and Radio board.

* * * * *

GIS Coordinator Brandee Douglas met regarding GIS business. An update was given on One Watershed One Plan.

Loveall/Groskreutz motion carried unanimously to approve the Pro West 20-hour technical support package for \$2,600.00. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

* * * * *

Central Services Director Lexi Scholten met regarding central services business.

Roper/Groskreutz motion carried unanimously to approve the appointment of Gertrude Paschke as County Assessor for a 4-year term ending December 31, 2024. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

Loveall/Roper motion carried unanimously to approve the hire of Megan Petersen as full-time Correctional Officer. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

* * * * *

Loveall/Young motion carried unanimously to approve training requests from L. Rebuffoni and S. Hauskins to attend 2-day GTS virtual conference on land use. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

* * * * *

Public Works Director Mark Daly met regarding office business. Construction update was given.

Loveall/Groskreutz motion carried unanimously to approve Resolution 20-RB08-68 to approve final payment of \$92,100.00 to Asphalt Surface Technologies Corp. on CP 20-600-20 the 2020 crack sealing project. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, CP 200-600-20, etal, 2020 crack sealing project has in all things been completed; and

WHEREAS, the final contract amount is \$92,100.00 which is \$3,436.00 (3.9%)more than the original contract bid of \$88, 664.00; and

WHEREAS, to date \$0.00 has been paid to the contractor leaving the balance of \$92,100.00; and

WHEREAS, the work has been performed satisfactorily and all necessary forms have been completed and received by the Highway Department.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the Board of Commissioners in and for the County of Faribault, Minnesota, that we do hereby accept said completed project and authorize final payment to Asphalt Surface Technologies Corp.

Young/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve agreement with UP Railroad for SP 022-598-001, Blue Earth Safe Routes to School project. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

Loveall/Roper motion carried unanimously to approve the 2021-2025 5-year road construction plan. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

* * * * *

Groskreutz/Roper motion carried unanimously to approve Resolution 20-CB-69 classifying and setting basic sales price of tax forfeited land. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the Faribault County Board of Commissioners desires to offer for sale certain parcels of land that have forfeited to the State of Minnesota for non-payment of taxes, and

WHEREAS, said parcels of land have been viewed by the County Board of Commissioners and the County Board has considered the following:

- 1. The present use of all parcels of property adjacent to the parcels
- 2. The potential productivity of the soil that is part of the tax-forfeited land,
- 3. The character of any forest or other vegetation growing on the tax-forfeited land,
- 4. The existing and potential accessibility of the tax-forfeited land to established roads, schools, and other public services,
- 5. The suitability or desirability of the tax-forfeited land for uses, and
- 6. The suitability of the land's forest resources for multiple uses and sustained yield management, and

WHEREAS, the goal of the classification is to achieve the following:

- 1. Encourage the most economical and efficient use of the property;
- 2. Reduce local and state government expenses;
- 3. Conserve and develop the state's natural resources; and
- 4. Encourage economic development.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Faribault County Board of Commissioners classifies the following parcels as "Non-Conservation Land" pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 282.01, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Faribault County Board of Commissioners hereby certify that all parcels of land on the Forfeited Tax Classification & Appraisal List 2020-A, a copy of which is on file in the office of the County Auditor, have been viewed and comply with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 85.012, 92.461, 282.01 subd. 8, and 282.018, and other statutes that require the withholding of tax-forfeited lands from sale.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Faribault County Board of Commissioners hereby determines that the list of parcels does not need approval from the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources to be offered for sale, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the basic sales price be set as stated on the list.

* * * * *

No member of the public appeared for Drainage Authority public comment

* * * * *

Groskreutz/Loveall motion carried unanimously to pay the audit list and auxiliary totaling \$ 970,524.83 as follows:

GENERAL REVENUE FUND \$ 162,925.38

PUBLIC WORKS FUND 49,502.27

HUMAN SERVICES FUND 238,806.67

Tom Warmka, Chair	Clara Vereide, Acting Clerk to the Board
The meeting was recessed to 9:00 a.m.	m. October 20, 2020.
	NON REV/DISB A 4,599.05 DITCH FUND 63,116.04 \$ 970,524.83 * * * * * * e meeting was recessed to 9:00 a.m. October 20, 2020.
	\$ 970,524.83
DITCH FUND	63,116.04
NON REV/DISB A	4,599.05
HUNTLEY SEWER	R DISTRICT 323,242.17
COUNTY LIBRARY	Y FUND 128,333.25