## FARIBAULT COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS MAY 7, 2019

The Faribault County Board of Commissioners met in regular session at the Courthouse in the City of Blue Earth at 9:00 a.m. on May 7, 2019. The following members were present: Bill Groskreutz, Tom Loveall, John Roper, Tom Warmka, and Greg Young Commissioners. County Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator John Thompson and County Attorney Kathryn Karjala were also present.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Groskreutz. The pledge of allegiance was recited.

\* \* \* \* \*

Young/Warmka motion carried unanimously to approve the synopsis and official proceedings of the April 16, 2019 regular meeting.

\* \* \* \* \*

Roper/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve the agenda of May 7, 2019.

\* \* \* \* \*

The calendar was updated. No member of the public appeared during public comment.

\* \* \* \* \*

Warmka/Roper motion carried unanimously to accept the resignation of Auditor-Treasurer-Coordinator John Thompson effective July 31, 2019.

\* \* \* \* \*

Committee reports were given. Roper reported on Workforce; Young reported on Planning and Zoning session in Mankato; Warmka reported on Extension and Towards Zero Deaths; Groskreutz reported on HRA, Pollution Control Agency letter regarding SCORE, Health meeting, and Environmental health.

\* \* \* \* \*

Planning and Zoning Administrator Loria Rebuffoni met regarding office business.

Loveall/Young motion carried unanimously to appoint Robin Stenzel to complete the term of Lola Baxter on the Planning Commissioner ending December 31, 2019.

Roper/Young motion carried unanimously to make the five appointed members of the Planning Commission also members on the Board of Adjustments with the at large member as the alternate and to adopt the following policy for the Board of Adjustments:

**Creation and Membership -** A Board of Adjustment is established by Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 394.21 through 394.37. See Section 27 of the Faribault County Ordinance for details including member terms. The term of each Board of Adjustment member shall follow the term of their Planning Commission appointment.

**Procedure and Qualifications -** The Board of Adjustment shall consist of six (6) members (five regular and one alternate). One member shall be appointed from each of the five commissioner districts and may be members of the Planning Commission. The alternate may also be the alternate for the Planning Commission. The Board of Adjustment may follow the Planning Commission meeting and will have its own elected chairman from among its members.

Officers - The Board of Adjustment shall elect a chairman and a vice-chairman from among its members. It shall adopt rules for the transaction of its business and shall keep a public record of the proceedings, findings and determinations. The Planning and Zoning office staff shall act as secretary of the Board. The members of the Board of Adjustment may be paid compensation in an amount determined by the County Board and may be paid their necessary expenses in attending meetings of the Board of Adjustment and in the conduct of business of the Board.

**Meetings** – Held on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Tuesday after the Planning Commission meeting which starts at 7:00 p.m. or may be held at the call of its Chairman and/or Zoning Administrator

## **Duties and Responsibilities:**

- 1. Administrative Appeals. The Board of Adjustment shall have the exclusive authority to hear and decide administrative appeals from and review any order, requirement, decision, or determination made by the Zoning Administrator.
- 2. Variances. The Board of Adjustment shall have the exclusive power to order the issuance or denial of variances from the terms of any official control including restrictions placed upon nonconformities.

\* \* \* \* \*

Central Services Director Dawn Fellows met regarding office business.

Loveall/Young motion carried unanimously to approve hiring Bryan Schaper as Engineer Tech II in the Public Works Department.

Roper/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve hiring John Oswald as Engineer Tech II in the Public Works Department.

Warmka/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve hiring Tanya Nagel-Hince as a full-time correctional officer in the Sheriff Department.

\* \* \* \* \*

Public Works Director Mark Daly met regarding office business.

Loveall/Roper motion carried unanimously to approve a joint powers agreement with the City of Delavan for SAP 22-615-012.

Loveall/Young motion carried unanimously to accept the sole quote for the purchase of a dump box for Unit 95 (truck) from TBI of \$12,565.

\* \* \* \* \*

Young/Warmka motion carried unanimously to approve the requests of D. Esser to attend two 3-day property tax software training sessions in Waite Park and a 4-day Mn Assoc. of County Auditors conference in Breezy Point.

No member of the public appeared during public comment for Drainage Board.

Roper/Loveall motion carried unanimously to pay the following bills: Auditor warrants totaling \$ 577,375.43, complete list on file in Auditor's office. ACH-EFT payments from April 15, 2019 to May 6, 2019 totaling \$ 247,377.09 as follows:

<u>Date</u>	<u>Amount</u>	<u>Description</u>
04/16/19	109,251.35	Commissioner Warrants
04/18/19	395.93	Auditor Warrants
04/25/19	98.53	Auditor Warrants
04/26/19	137,631.28	Payroll
	\$247,377.09	Total

Audit list and auxiliary totaling \$ 779,305.01 as follows:

COUNTY REVENUE FUND	\$ 147,839.62
PUBLIC WORKS FUND	304,871.77
HUMAN SERVICES FUND	237,254.84
HUNTLEY SEWER DISTRICT	925.00
FORFEITED TAX SALE FUND	6.60
ADVANCE TAX AND OTHER	160.00
TAX AND PENALTIES (ODD)	39,686.02
NON REVENUE/DISB A	6,919.70
DITCH FUND	41,641.46 \$ 779,305.01

The meeting was recessed to 9:00 a.m. May 21, 2019.

Bill Groskreutz, Chair John Thompson, Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator