## FARIBAULT COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS MAY 4, 2021

The Faribault County Board of Commissioners met in regular session at the Courthouse in the City of Blue Earth at 9:00 a.m. on May 4, 2021. The following members were present: Bruce Anderson, Bill Groskreutz, Tom Loveall, John Roper, and Greg Young Commissioners. County Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator Darren Esser and Acting Clerk to the Board Clara Vereide were also present. Also participating in the call were Faribault County employees: K. Karjala, J. Blair, K. Anderson, S. Hauskins, and L. Scholten; members of the public: Milton Steele and Kevin Mertens

The meeting was called to order by Chair Roper. The pledge of allegiance was recited.

\* \* \* \* \*

Young/Anderson motion carried unanimously to approve the synopsis and official proceedings of the April 20, 2021 regular and drainage meeting.

\* \* \* \* \*

Groskreutz/Young motion carried unanimously to approve the agenda of May 4, 2021.

\* \* \* \* \*

The calendar was updated.

No member of the public appeared during public comment.

\* \* \* \* \*

Committee reports were given. Groskreutz reported on EDA, Library Board, HRA, MVAC, and AMC Legislative update; Young reported on Buildings and Grounds committee and Personnel committee; Anderson reported on MRCI, Extension, MPCA testing regarding county landfill; and Loveall reported on 1W1P.

\* \* \* \* \*

GIS Coordinator Brandee Douglas met regarding Le Sueur One Watershed, One Plan.

Loveall/Anderson motion carried unanimously to approve submitting Faribault County's Le Sueur One Watershed, One Plan (1W1P) priority issues and plan expectations.

\* \* \* \* \*

Faribault County EDA Director Annie Nichols, Bevcomm CEO Bill Eckles and Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator Darren Esser met regarding Broadband Development grant.

Loveall/Young motion carried unanimously to direct County EDA Director and County Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator to apply for Broadband Development Community Development Block Grant.

Young/Groskreutz motion carried unanimously to set hearing date for Broadband Development Community Development Block Grant application for 6:30 pm Thursday, May 20, 2021 at the Board Room in the Faribault County Courthouse, 415 North Main Street, Blue Earth, MN and via Zoom video conference.

\* \* \* \* \*

Public Works Director Mark Daly met regarding office business.

\* \* \* \* \*

Public comment for Drainage Authority was called. Steven Gray appeared regarding putting a pasture on the buffer strip.

\* \* \* \* \*

Public Works Director Mark Daly returned to the meeting.

Young/Anderson motion carried unanimously to approve adding rumble stripes on the fog lines on CSAH 16 project.

\* \* \* \* \*

Groskreutz/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve appointment of Julie J. Stenzel effective April 20, 2021 on the Library Board, to complete the term of Susan Dundas ending December 31, 2021.

\* \* \* \* \*

Young/Groskreutz motion carried unanimously to approve an increase of \$2800 to the EDA Administration budget and a decrease of \$2800 to the EDA Legal Fees budget to cover document scanning costs.

\* \* \* \* \*

Anderson/Groskreutz motion carried unanimously to approve the sale and refurbishment of Parcel No. 22.241.0650 in the City of Bricelyn to correct blight.

\* \* \* \* \*

Young/Groskreutz motion carried unanimously to approve Resolution 21-CB-42 classifying and setting basic sales price of tax forfeited land. Commissioners Anderson, Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, and Young voted yes.

## RESOLUTION

**WHEREAS,** the Faribault County Board of Commissioners desires to offer for sale certain parcels of land that have forfeited to the State of Minnesota for non-payment of taxes, and

**WHEREAS,** said parcels of land have been viewed by the County Board of Commissioners and the County Board has considered the following:

- 1. The present use of all parcels of property adjacent to the parcels
- 2. The potential productivity of the soil that is part of the tax-forfeited land,
- 3. The character of any forest or other vegetation growing on the tax-forfeited land,
- 4. The existing and potential accessibility of the tax-forfeited land to established roads, schools, and other public services,
- 5. The suitability or desirability of the tax-forfeited land for uses, and
- 6. The suitability of the land's forest resources for multiple uses and sustained yield management, and

**WHEREAS,** the goal of the classification is to achieve the following:

- 1. Encourage the most economical and efficient use of the property;
- 2. Reduce local and state government expenses;
- 3. Conserve and develop the state's natural resources; and
- 4. Encourage economic development.
- **NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Faribault County Board of Commissioners classifies the following parcels as "Non-Conservation Land" pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 282.01, and
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that the Faribault County Board of Commissioners hereby certify that all parcels of land on the Forfeited Tax Classification & Appraisal List 2021-A and Forfeited Tax Classification & Appraisal List 2021-B, copies of which are on file in the office of the County Auditor, have been viewed and comply with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 85.012, 92.461, 282.01 subd. 8, and 282.018, and other statutes that require the withholding of tax-forfeited lands from sale.
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that the Faribault County Board of Commissioners hereby determines that the lists of parcels do not need approval from the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources to be offered for sale, and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that the basic sales price be set as stated on the list.

\* \* \* \* \*

Groskreutz/Anderson motion carried unanimously to approve request from B. Rauenhorst to attend a 5-day General Appraiser Income Approach course online.

\* \* \* \* \*

Young/Anderson motion carried unanimously to pay audit list and auxiliary totaling \$ 376,467.89 as follows:

GENERAL REVENUE FUND	\$ 47,002.97
PUBLIC WORKS FUND	51,978.17
HUMAN SERVICES FUND	222,521.37
COUNTY LIBRARY FUND	44,902.74

## NON REV/DISB A

982.82

DITCH FUND

9,079.82 \$ 376,467.89

\* \* \* \* \*

The meeting was recessed to 9:00 a.m. May 18, 2021.	
John Roper, Chair	Clara Vereide, Acting Clerk to the Board