FARIBAULT COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS JUNE 2, 2020

The Faribault County Board of Commissioners met in regular session via teleconference in the City of Blue Earth at 9:00 a.m. on June 2, 2020. The following members were present: Bill Groskreutz, Tom Loveall, John Roper, Tom Warmka, and Greg Young Commissioners. County Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator Darren Esser, County Attorney Kathryn Karjala, Central Services Director Lexi Scholten, and Acting Clerk to the Board Clara Vereide were also present. Also participating in the call were Faribault County employees: D. Anderson, J. Blair, C. Lewis, and B. Rauenhorst; members of public: Barbara Baker, Ann Giese, Milt Steele, and Kevin Mertens.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Warmka. The pledge of allegiance was recited.

* * * * *

Young/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve the synopsis and official proceedings of the May 19, 2020 regular meeting. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

* * * * *

Roper/Groskreutz motion carried unanimously to approve the agenda of June 2, 2020. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

* * * * *

The calendar was updated.

During public comment Barbara Baker of Rome Township spoke to revoking the conditional use permit granted to Twedt and Legried.

* * * * *

Committee reports were presented. Groskreutz reported on EDA, CEDA, HRA, and MRCI; Warmka reported on EMS.

* * * * *

Menno Schukking, Planner with SRF Consulting met regarding Regional Transportation Coordinating Council. Prairie Lakes Transit Director Jeremy Monahan also attended.

* * * * *

Mike Gormley met regarding sheriff business.

Groskreutz/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve Resolution 20-CB-41 the annual Boat and Water Safety Agreement for January 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021 with a payment of \$2,641.00 from the State of Minnesota. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, that the annual county Boat and Water Safety Agreement for the County of Faribault for payment by the State of Minnesota in the amount of \$2,641.00 for the period from January 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021, is hereby approved and that Faribault County Sheriff Mike Gormley, Chair of the Faribault County Board of Commissioners Tom Warmka, and Faribault County Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator Darren Esser, are hereby authorized to sign said agreement between the State of Minnesota, acting by and through the Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources and the County of Faribault.

* * * * *

Public Works Director Mark Daly met regarding office business.

Groskreutz/Young motion carried unanimously to approve Resolution 20-RB04-42 with Department of Natural Resources for snowmobile trail maintenance. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

RESOLUTION

- **BE IT RESOLVED** that the County of Faribault act as the legal sponsor for an application for funding to the State of Minnesota Department of Natural Resources for maintenance and grooming of the snowmobile trails managed by Faribault County Trails, Blue Earth Snow Rovers Snowmobile Club, and Stateliner's Snowmobile Club.
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that upon approval of its application by the State, the County of Faribault may enter into an agreement with the State of Minnesota for the above referenced project and that it will comply with all applicable laws and regulations as stated in the agreement.
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that Mark Daly Director/Engineer of the Public Works Department and Darren Esser County Auditor/Treasurer/Coordinator are authorized to sign such an agreement with the Department of Natural Resources.
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that Mark Daly Director/Engineer of the Public Works Department is hereby authorized to serve as the fiscal agent for the above referenced project.

Roper/Young motion carried unanimously to approve the opening of both county parks effective June 4, 2020. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

Loveall/Young motion carried unanimously to allow temporary outdoor dining permits on County State Aid Highway right of ways. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

Young/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve quote on SAP 022-599-122 repair of Bridge No. 22552 from Icon Construction of \$41,175. One other quote was received from M & K Construction of \$48,400. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper Warmka, and Young voted yes.

Groskreutz/Loveall motion carried unanimously to approve railroad side-track crossing policy on county highways. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

* * * * *

Roper/Groskreutz motion carried unanimously to approve Resolution 20-CB-43 establishing an Absentee Ballot Board effective June 26, 2020. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

RESOLUTION

- **WHEREAS**, Faribault County is required by Minnesota Statutes 203B.121, Subdv.1 to establish an Absentee Ballot Board effective June 26, 2020; and
- **WHEREAS**, this board will bring uniformity in the processing of accepting or rejecting returned absentee ballots, mail ballots, and UOCAVA ballots in Faribault County; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Absentee Ballot Board would consist of a sufficient number of election judges as provided in sections 204B.19 to 204B.22 or deputy county auditors trained in the processing and counting of absentee ballots;
- **THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Faribault County Board of Commissioners hereby establishes an Absentee Ballot Board that would consist of a sufficient number of election judges as provided in sections 204B.19 to 204B.22 or deputy auditors to perform the task.

* * * * *

Young/Groskreutz motion carried unanimously to approve requests from B. Douglas to attend a 3-day Esri 2020 virtual user conference and B. Rauenhorst to attend a 1-day MAAO summer seminar online. Commissioners Groskreutz, Loveall, Roper, Warmka, and Young voted yes.

* * * * *

No member of the public appeared for Drainage Authority public comment

* * * * *

Young/Loveall motion carried unanimously to pay the following bills:

Audit list and auxiliary totaling \$ 343,762.64 as follows:

GENERAL REVENUE FUND	\$ 40,837.45
PUBLIC WORKS FUND	26,034.20
HUMAN SERVICES FUND	238,806.67
DITCH FUND	38,084.32

\$ 343,762.64

* * * * *

The meeting was recessed to 9:00 a.m. June 16, 2020.

Tom Warmka, Chair Clara Vereide, Acting Clerk to the Board